The things that matter [1] (Gray Jersey)

I have a gray jersey for the winters, made of wool- a full zip up. My mother bought it for me when I was 14. Back then they were a trending fashion but my jersey was distinct. It didn’t have the ‘Diesel’ tag on the hem or anywhere else for that matter- it didn’t belong to any brand, It was unique like that and It was meant for me.

I remember a friend asked me about it because he wanted one too, and I had told him I didn’t know because my mum had bought it for me. Few days later he came up to me wearing a gray one too and told me it was easy to find and that’s how I came to know it was trending. But then like young competing bucks we took them off and compared to see which one looked better and it didn’t take long for my jersey to sway and win, my jersey had a softer and graceful tone to its color.

A few weeks later everyone was wearing one, black, gray purple, maroon and blue. It felt funny to see every other person ready for cozy display but each and every one of them was wearing a Diesel tag. You see they all looked generic and soon the fad got boring- Diesel’s reign had ended. But unlike the fad the journey of my jersey didn’t end there. Because for every winter after my hands where hiding in it’s sleeves; And it wasn’t late that it hung on to me into my bed.

When spring would bloom I would tug up the sleeves and when winter would return it would take me in a warm fuzzy hug, and somewhere in one those seasons I realized I was in love with it. It was worn and it was old but my heart was set and It remained gold, my hands felt safe in its loose hold.

But soon jealousy grew in the heart of time and 10 years had passed, a tear here and a few threads there, one day my mother saw me wearing it and said,

“I want to make a duster out of it”

I smiled and shook my head, and then I wondered if she remembered what it felt like when she bought it.

About Haris

I've never seen myself as a writer but sometimes words just flow out of my fingers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The things that matter [1] (Gray Jersey)

  1. I love this. Gave me an instant inspiration for things and people in my life who keep and important place and are inseparable. Very beautifully executed such a simple yet special intimacy. I have always admired those who come up with a very complete story in very short paragraphs and hence, this piece just hits me.

    I don’t know whether they tell you around or not but you’ve a very beautiful style of writing and the best thing about your writings is the simplicity of your words which are weaved so adeptly; not every writer has it.

    • Haris says:

      I was hoping you’d comment and so glad you did :D, I was afraid it would be empty-

      Last night I couldn’t sleep and I’m constantly filled with thoughts, and last night nothing was working out for me so I decided to write this silly thought which turned into an idea.

      I have a lot of things in my possession that I’m crazy about and I wanted to write about all of them but after writing just about my jersey I realized I was fixated and it would have been a long post and night if I wrote everything in one go, So I decided I’d write them in pieces-

      anyhow, I’ve been told around that I write good and you’ve been by far the most enthusiastic one, you see- um I think it would be better that I write about it-

      I’ll write about it :], for now I can’t tell you how glad I feel, Thank you for taking the time to read it, it means a lot when you think about the elusive nature and currency that time is. I’m glad you’re inspired.

Leave a Reply

